Domestic Help and OOTD

So I just read an article in O Magazines November issue titled Domestic Help. This article is written by a woman who decides that before her son leaves home she wants to teach him how to run one. She goes on to say how she has cooked thousands of meals during her sons life, but when asking him for help in the kitchen he didn’t even know what a colander was. She admits that she had never included him in the kitchen or let him help much as a child with cooking. She realized as he became a teenager that she had done a great job at building his confidence and character but had failed to consider that she was raising someone’s future roommate, boyfriend, husband, or father. So she began what she calls a “private home-ec course” at home. She gave him cooking lessons and taught him how to sew. Her biggest message that she wanted to impart was that there’s nothing masculine about being helpless. As the mother of an 11 year old son and 2 daughters that will eventually settle down and marry a man, I think I can appreciate this mothers actions. At the same time I’m not sure I would go about it the same way with my own son. What is your opinion on this? It’s really got me thinking and I would love to hear your thoughts so please share them in the comments.

Anyway…..on to the ootd –

186

Another casual day for me.
Sweater – Banana Republic
Tank – Old Navy
Jeans – New Look (in the UK)
Boots – Payless

Recreate my look –

HAVE A GREAT DAY PEEPS!

~ Jessica ~

Leave a Reply

